"could not connect to the database....access denied to user" when installing joomla Topic is solved

Need help installing Joomla! 5.x? For all Joomla! 5.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Lakeside55
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

"could not connect to the database....access denied to user" when installing joomla

Post by Lakeside55 » Thu Apr 25, 2024 6:17 am

I used to how to do this stuff... :-[ .MANY years ago, embarrassed to have forgotten..anyway. Just istalled XAMPP, extracted Joomla zip file to C:XAMPP/htdocs, was running the install and had it ALL filled in THEN clicked the final button (install Joomla) and got this error: Could not connect to the database. Connector returned error message: Access denied for user 'bXXX'@'localhost' (using password: YES) I chose 'run as adminstrator' for xampp in my control panel, and set superuser, password for superuser during setup, so not sure what else to do. I kept getting that error message when I tried to install wamp previously (got fed up, uninstalled wamp and tried xampp lol) Greatly appreciate any ideas, thanks.

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: "could not connect to the database....access denied to user" when installing joomla

Post by imanickam » Thu Apr 25, 2024 6:40 am

In XAMPP and WAMP servers, the default user name is root and there is no password for the user root.

If you want to use another user to access the database, you have to access the database via phpMyAdmin, create a new user, and GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES to the user being created.

Hope this helps.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்